Of Cabbages and Kings

January 25, 2009

Aravind Adiga’s new bit of fiction

Filed under: Fiction — Chinmayi @ 7:26 pm

has been published in the New Yorker – it is called the Elephant.  Try it out.

The narrative smells strongly of James Joyce to me, with a generous dash of someone else that I cannot quite put my finger on. The perspective of the rebellious rickshaw-walla, the callous and ridiculous upper classes, the helpless rage…I have seen this before but I can’t remember where. Is it Rohinton Mistry…VS Naipaul…Upamanyu Chatterjee…I wish I could remember.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

