Of Cabbages and Kings

January 1, 2009

Happy New Year

Filed under: Personal, Random musing — Chinmayi @ 10:38 pm

I will miss 2008 – it has seen me live in three different cities and make several major changes to my life. It has saved people I love from death and disaster.  It has brought me new friends and brought my old friends happiness and success. It has brought me to places that I dreamed of seeing and music I dreamed of hearing. It has even brought back on occassion, that increasingly-elusive pleasure that I used to take in my work.

Perhaps this year will heal us a little and help us rise into promises only glimpsed in 2008. Perhaps the world will start shaking off the cycle of violence that terrorism repeatedly pitches us into, and will look upwards at Obama’s message of hope and backwards into all that has redeemed it in the past. Perhaps this will be the year that will begin the end of distrust and will bring to the world a dazzling new idea like glasnost. Perhaps…

Here’s wishing the world a very happy 2009.  This day (if illusorily so) is special for all the hope that it carries. From here, 2009 could be a hundred kinds of beautiful…

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

