Of Cabbages and Kings

January 23, 2007

Grumbles from a spoilt girl

Filed under: Personal, Random musing — Chinmayi @ 5:40 pm

Most people hire household help to….well, be helped – to have things taken care of, to not have to worry, to get out of doing chores around the house, to save time and so on.

Ours being a feudalish country, help comes cheap. So we’ve got battalions of people to ‘make our lives easier’. Today I had to spend well over two hours at work trying to contact my army of ‘help’. There’s apparently pandemonium in my house. My grandmother tells me that the cleaning lady’s gone ballistic and has scared the  daylights out of the cook. The cleaning lady refuses to turn up at an hour at which she can be given a stern talking to. The cook who is supposed to double as housekeeper and supervise over the cleaning lady refuses to assert herself. The grandmother who is supposed to give the cook instructions over the phone about housekeeping, instead gives me instructions about not aggravating the cleaning lady because she’ll take it out on the cook (and the cook’s an old loyal employee of my grandmother’s). And so on. All this sitting at a clients place and trying to look like I’m in an important conference call.

I come home to wash the clothes that are unwashed because the cleaning lady refuses to let me tell her what needs to be done. Valiantly choke down some vile-looking pumkin based thing so that the cook’s feelings won’t be hurt. Scrub the dishes before I ate off them the because the cleaning lady had done such a bad job of it.

I thought I was supposed to lead a spoiled cossetted life for a bit!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

